As far as possible no cookies are utilized when using this website. However, if you sign in with your user account, they are required so that you do not have to repeat your login every time you load a page. These cookies are deleted at the end of a session, but can also be deleted manually in standard browsers.
When connecting to the server, the required and usual protocol data is created. This includes the IP address, referrer, visited page, time of page visit, browser and the like. This information is used anonymously for internal analysis and improvement of the website, as well as to determine the popularity of the individual omdb pages and to ensure the usability of the website. The data are processed in accordance with Article 6(1)(f) of the GDPR.
To display trailers and IMDb ratings, a connection to the servers of the respective providers must be established. The privacy policies of these providers can be found for example at
- https://policies.google.com/privacy (YouTube)
- https://vimeo.com/privacy (Vimeo)
- https://www.imdb.com/privacy (IMDb)
As far as possible, omdb can be used without registration. A registration is voluntary. The personal data required for registration (login name, password, email) is used for the identification of the user. The voluntary additional data will is used for anonymised statistics on the ratings (rating by age, by gender etc.) at the respective movie pages.
The stored data can be viewed on request at any time and, if necessary, changed or deleted. For this, send an email to email@example.com via the email address stored in the account. The additional information can also be viewed and edited on your profile page.
Public visibility of edits
Any editing that you make in articles at omdb will be recorded in publicly accessible logs, also in order to fulfil the CreativeCommons attribution right. If you edit articles without being logged in, a hash value formed of your IP address will be displayed as “editor” so that your IP address does not appear in public. If you are logged in, your username will be displayed instead and linked to your user page. On request, you can delete your user account. By doing so, you will renounce your right to be named under the CreativeCommons license and your username will no longer appear publicly.
Disclosure to Third Parties
No data will be disclosed to third parties unless required by law.